Home » Top Ten List » Tuesday Top Ten

Tuesday Top Ten

toptenbeach

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Book bloggers create their own lists based on the chosen topics and post links to our lists. It’s a way of all sharing our thoughts and our love of books.  And who doesn’t love lists??

This week’s challenge is to list our top ten beach reads.  We usually vacation at the beach for a week each summer and pre-Nook I was always the one with an entire suitcase of books!  Given the rising cost of checking luggage my Nook is well-used on vacation even if it remains untouched most of the rest of the year. These are the types of things that I like to load onto my Nook before we hit the road!

  1. Beach Books – These are literally books that are about the beach, or set on the beach, or have a beach on the cover…  Books that are light and fluffy and make you think of warm breezes and fruity drinks – Dorothea Benton Frank, Mary Kay Andrews, Elin Hilderbrand, …
  2. Cozy Mysteries – Fun and light mystery series that are a quick read, a return to familiar characters, knowing that the bad guy will get caught by the inept amateur detective in the end!
  3. Old Favorites – Time on the beach is a great time to revisit old favorites – you already know that you love it so I chance to re-immerse yourself in that favored place is always welcome.
  4. Humor – Anything that will make me laugh out loud – Carl Hiassen, Janet Evanovich, …
  5. New Releases – Whatever is on my “just released and I must read it immediately!” list.
  6. Young Adult Series – There are a lot of really fun YA series out there that I just don’t have time to read day-to-day and vacation on the beach is the perfect chance to whip through an entire series!
  7. To-Read List –  All those books that I’ve really wanted to read for a long time but have never gotten around to – sitting on the beach is a great time to start working on the list!
  8. ARCs –  Advance Review Copies – books that are coming out soon that I want to review for purchasing at the library or for my blog.
  9. Whatever my kids are reading –  My kids are both voracious readers and I like to be able to share in what they are experiencing.
  10. Paperbacks – If it’s not on my Nook it’s usually a paperback – and nothing spectacularly significant – just some fun read – a cover or title that caught my eye – thrown into my beach bag.

 

3 thoughts on “Tuesday Top Ten

Leave a Reply

